The Little Katana

The 1982 GS-550M Katana.

The 1982 GS-550M Katana.

Suzuki’s Katana lineup stole the headlines in 1982 with its Star Wars inspired styling. Streetbikes of the early 1980s featured boxy, squared off lines – designer Hans Muth blew that concept out of the water with the Katana. Muth was a hero after his beautiful and sleek design of the BMW R100RS in the late 1970s. But for most sportbike fans Muth missed the mark with the Katana. It was a design that people either loved or hated and the haters definitely outnumbered the lovers. Perhaps the forgotten motorcycle in the Katana lineup was the little GS-550M pictured here. The 550’s lines were a little more subtle and mainstream than those its 1000cc big brother. To my eye this was the best looking of the early ’80s Katanas. The 550 Katana didn’t sell however. By then the engine design was over five years old and Kawasaki had released the lighter and better handling GPz550. The Suzuki gets the last laugh today though. Since the bikes didn’t sell in big numbers it’s rare to find these today and a well-maintained version would certainly fetch more than a  GPz550 of the same vintage.

7 thoughts on “The Little Katana

  1. Older I get (43) the more I like the original Katana series of bikes. Maybe becuase they have what so many of bikes available today do not have, character? Was not aware the 550 was even sold stateside.

    Like

  2. I owned an 83 GS1100E that I thought was a beautiful bike. It had similar lines to the GS550 Katana. My 1100E was also a Hans Muth designed bike. The body style of the ’83 GS1100E was unchanged from that introduced in 1982, just came in different paint colors.

    Like

  3. My buddy let me take his 1100 Katana for a spin once.I grabbed a handful of throttle exiting a turn and that beast broke the rear tire loose.It sure wasnt my 450 Hawk! The Katanas are classics for sure.

    Like

  4. Rick

    I had a similar experience on a buddy’s ’83 GS1100. I was riding a ’78 GS750 at the time and thought I knew what power was. I rolled on the gas with that 1100 coming out a corner on a set of twisties I knew well and I was stunned how quickly I had to brake for the next turn. It was like everything was happening in hyper speed.

    Like

Leave a comment